Harold Moon Scholarship

Every year since 2004 the Nebraska IAI has offered a $500 scholarship to one member for attendance to the Annual IAI International Educational Conference. 


This scholarship is named for Harold W. Moon.  He was hired by the Nebraska State Patrol June 5, 1958 in Columbus, Nebraska.  In 1965, he began training in Question Documents.  He was promoted to Lieutenant in 1977.  In April 1973, Moon was appointed as the first Criminalistics Director of the Nebraska State Patrol.  Moon designed, equipped and staffed the State Criminalistics Laboratory using at least five other state labs as research and examples to best serve law enforcement and the citizens of the state.  Moon was one of the foremost Document Examiners in the Midwest and was instrumental in formulating the Nebraska Chapter of the IAI.  When the Nebraska Chapter of the IAI was chartered on June 14, 1985, he served as the first elected president.  Moon was chosen as charter honoree of the NEIAI Hall of Fame, created in 1986 to recognize members who have made outstanding achievements in identification or related forensic areas.  In 1986 Lt. Moon retired from the Nebraska State Patrol, however remained active in Question Document examination doing private work.


Lt. Harold W. Moon passed away April 14, 1996, but his memory remains with the Harold Moon Scholarship.


The Harold Moon Scholarship is awarded by the Nebraska IAI President to an Active member of the NEIAI.  The President takes into consideration: training the individual will be attending and which courses will benefit the most NE IAI members.  The requirement of the recipient is to present at the next Nebraska Division of the IAI Annual Educational Conference, passing on the skills and knowledge acquired at the IAI International Educational Conference.

Harold Moon Scholarship Flyer  


The 107th Annual IAI Educational Conference will be held August 20th - 26th, 2023 in National Harbor, MD.

To be considered for the Harold Moon Scholarship, send a completed application by March 27th, 2023 to:


Nebraska IAI

Attn: Harold Moon Scholarship

PO Box 22060

Lincoln, NE 68542 

or by email to joshua.connelly@douglascounty-ne.gov

Past Harold Moon Scholarship Recipients

2006   Kathy Ayres, Nebraska State Patrol

2007   Mariana Ward, Nebraska State Patrol

2008   Erin Sims, Lincoln Police Department

2009   Mariana Ward, Nebraska State Patrol

2010   Bridger Driver, Nebraska State Patrol

2012   Josh Connelly, Douglas County Sheriff's Office

2013   Tony Loth, Nebraska State Patrol

2015   Josh Connelly, Douglas County Sheriff's Office

2016   Amy Lesan, Lancaster County Sheriff's Office

2017   Angie Bonar, Douglas County Sheriff's Office

2018   Christie Van Andel, Nebraska State Patrol

2019   Josh Connelly, Douglas County Sheriff's Office 

2020   No conference held

2021   Cheri Ivers, Nebraska State Patrol

2022   Ben McBride, Norfolk Police Department

           Madi Schwenka, Federal Bureau of Investigation 

           Brandi Hayes, Federal Bureau of Investigation 

           Chris Weber, Lincoln Police Department

           Amy Lesan, Lancaster County Sheriff's Office

  • Aware
  • Bio-One
  • CSIpix